For information about our response to COVID-19, please click here.

Downtown Sycamore, Illinois on Main street and Somonauk street

City Government

The City of Sycamore is a Council-Manager form of government. This form of government was passed by referendum in 2003. Alderpersons are elected, two in each of the four wards, and the aldermanic elections are held every two years, at which time half of the City Council is elected. The Mayor is elected at large every four years. The City Manager is appointed by the City Council and the City Manager appoints all other employees. The elected officials determine policy, while professional, appointed officials implement policy.

The City of Sycamore’s government is located in the Sycamore Center located at 308 W. State Street. Normal business hours are from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Departments include: Administration, Building and Zoning, City Clerk, Engineering, Fire Department, Police Department and the Public Works Department.

The City of Sycamore City Council meets the first and third Monday of the month at 7:00 P.M. These meetings are open to the public.