Side profile of Sycamore City Center looking west down State Street

The City of Sycamore is a Council-Manager form of government, which was passed by referendum in 2003. Sycamore has eight elected alderpersons - two per each of the City's four wards. Aldermanic elections are held every two years, at which time half of the City Council is elected. The Mayor is elected at large every four years. The City Manager is appointed by the City Council, and the City Manager appoints all other employees. The elected officials determine policy, while professional, appointed officials implement this policy.

The City of Sycamore's government is housed in the Sycamore Center located at 308 W State Street. Normal business hours are from 8:30 am to 5 pm. Monday through Friday.

City departments include: Administration, Community Development, City Clerk, Engineering, Fire, Police, and Public Works.

The Sycamore City Council meets on the first and third Mondays of each month at 6 pm. These meetings are open to the public.