City of Sycamore Police station and police cars

Police Divisions

Patrol Division

The Patrol Division consists of the Patrol Commander, sixteen (16) officers, and four (4) sergeants which provide twenty-four hour service to the community. Patrol officers handle calls for service, criminal and traffic enforcement, accident investigation, and enforce city ordinances.  They conduct walking patrols in the business district, patrol parks and neighborhoods, and ensure public safety at the many community events.  For a non-emergency response of a patrol officer, please contact dispatch at 815-895-2123.

Investigations Division

The Investigations Division consists of the Investigations Commander,  two (2) general case detectives, two (2) school resource officers and a detective assigned as an Internet Crimes Against Children investigator who investigates cases involving a computer or has a technology nexus.  The Investigations Division specializes in complex criminal cases ranging from sexual assaults to frauds to burglaries.  Three members of the Investigations Division are assigned to the DeKalb County Major Crimes Task Force which is a multi-jurisdictional task force activated for serious and manpower intensive criminal investigations.

Administration Division

The Administration Division includes the Chief of Police who oversees the management of the department, the Deputy Chief of Police, and the Command Staff Secretary.  Included in the Administrative Division is the Support Sergeant who facilitates the administrative adjudication system and supervises the evidence officer, part-time parking enforcement officers, part-time property maintenance officer, and crossing guards. Also within the division is the Records Manager who maintains the organization and integrity of all documents as well as processes FOIA requests and report dissemination.